FORMIDABLE FODEN'S - Full coverage from the 2021 National Brass Band Championships

Issue 6112

HOW TO IMPRESS - Amos Miller on flourishing in a conservatoire audition

COMPOSER CAST - Liz Lane on her fascinating early musical life

DEPARTURE - Cornet star Kirsty Abbotts leaves Carlton Main

Composers' submissions welcome for John Golland Award

Sunday 3 October, 2021

Composers are being invited to submit works for the 2022 RNCM John Golland Award.

Composers aged 18-30 are invited to submit new, or previously unperformed, works for small brass ensemble for public performance on the morning of Sunday, January 30, 2022, as part of the RNCM Brass Band Festival.

The work should be written for an ensemble of between four and six players, based on the standard brass band quartet. Submissions should be a maximum of eight minutes in duration, and up to four will be selected for the final, depending on length and complexity. The works will be performed by students from the RNCM.

Following the performances, a jury chaired by the festival’s artistic director Paul Hindmarsh, will select one composer as the recipient of the fifth John Golland Award. That will take the form of a £500 sum and an invitation to write a short work for brass band to be performed at a future festival. The award is funded from the estate of Manchester born composer John Golland, and was instituted by the John Golland Trust to encourage young composers to write for the brass band medium which meant so much to him.

The RNCM’s Brass Band Festival aims to provide a unique opportunity for world renowned brass bands and soloists to perform the finest and original brass compositions from the past 100 years.

More information is available by contacting Harriet Lane:


Subscribe to British Bandsman today!

Issue 6111 digital September 30, 2021