FORMIDABLE FODEN'S - Full coverage from the 2021 National Brass Band Championships

Issue 6112

HOW TO IMPRESS - Amos Miller on flourishing in a conservatoire audition

COMPOSER CAST - Liz Lane on her fascinating early musical life

DEPARTURE - Cornet star Kirsty Abbotts leaves Carlton Main

Whitburn triumphs at Dr Martin Contest

Tuesday 21 September, 2021

Whitburn Band returned to contesting in style recently, with a dominant showing at the Dr Martin Trust Wainstones Cup.

Under the baton of Garry Cutt, the West Lothian band secured the £4,000 first prize at the Princess Alexandra Auditorium in Yarm School on September 12 after it impressed in its thrilling showing which opened with George Allan march, The Wizard. Principal cornet player Chris Bradley was the featured soloist in Don’t Doubt Him Now by Leonard Ballantine, arranged by Craig Woodland. Whitburn secured its second Dr Martin title after it concluded its programme with the test-piece Rococo Variations, by Edward Gregson.

Charlie Farren, Whitburn Band chairman, said: “We want to thank the organisers for putting on an excellent event that allowed the bands to perform once again. Congratulations also to all the prize winners and to all the performers.

“We thank Garry Cutt for his fantastic work with the band, and well done of course to all of the players for their hard work in preparing the performance.”

The 2021 Dr Martin Contest saw six bands pit their musical wits against each other, with Hepworth (Ryan Watkins) and Reg Vardy (John Roberts) occupying the remaining podium places.

Neil Parkin, of the Dr Martin Contest, told British Bandsman: “The Dr Martin Trust was delighted to see the return of the brass band contesting to the Princess Alexandra Auditorium on Sunday. From the moment doors opened, we could sense real excitement in the air from competitors and the audience alike. We were treated to some wonderful performances, six varied own choice test-pieces, fantastic soloists and this year marches written by local composer, George Allan.

“The Dr Martin Team would like to thank the amazing team of helpers from Cockerton Prize Silver Band, who took time out of their busy preparations for the National Finals to ensure the contest ran smoothly.

“Congratulations to all six bands that competed on the day – we fully appreciate just how much hard work went into attending. We hope to be able to welcome back even more bands to the contest in 2022.”


Adjudicator: Alan Morrison

1) Whitburn Band (Garry Cutt) The Wizard 46 Don’t Doubt Him Now 97 Rococo Variations 94 187
2) Hepworth (Ryan Watkins) The Wizard 43 P Wilby Concerto for Euphonium 44 Pageantry 91 178
3) Reg Vardy (John Roberts) Knight Templar 41 Harlequin 48 Of Distant Memories 87 176
4) Ratby Co-op (David Purkiss) The Wizard 42 Eyes of a Child 43 Dynasty 90 175
5) Easington Colliery (Daniel Brooks) Senator 39 Metropolis 42 the Torchbearer 85 166
6) Rainford (Sarah Groarke-Booth) The Wizard 38 In Gardens of Peace 41 Paganini Variations 84 163