BATTLE OF THE TITANS - Bands gear up for a titanic battle at the Royal Albert Hall

Issue 6016

COMPOSERS' CORNER - Dr Liz Lane looks at the subject of  networking 

HERE IS THE NEWS - Looking back at the Daily Herald's Nationals sponsorship

Result: Butlin's Mineworkers Festival day one

Sunday 12 January, 2020

Full results from day one at the 2020 Butlin's Mineworkers Championships, where there were victories for Eccles Borough, City of Coventry Brass, Tewit Silver and Dodworth Colliery bands.


First Section

Set work: Symphonic Episodes for Brass Band (Brian Balmages arr Mike Kilmartin)
Adjudicators: Leigh Baker and Gary Davies

1. Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray)
2. Stannington (Derek Renshaw)
3. Staffordshire (Craig Williams)
4. Dublin Silver (Tim Jameson)
5. Sandhurst Silver (David Johnson)
6. Soham Comrades (Mark Ager)
7. Marsden Silver (Andrew Lofthouse)
8. Middleton (Kevin Gibbs)
9. Haydock Band (Mark Quinn)
10. Unite the Union (John Davis)
11. Harborough (Brad Turnbull)
12. Milton Keynes Brass (Jonathan Mott)

Highest placed mining band: Haydock Band


Second Section

Set work: Galdhoppigen (Simon Kerwin)
Adjudicators: Anne Crookston and Sheona Wade

1. City of Coventry Brass (Jonathan Fearn)
2. Hade Edge (Jamie Smith)
3. Gresley Colliery (Craig Stevens)
4. Besses Boys (James Holt)
5. Eagley (Chris Wormald)
6. Hebden Bridge (David Hamilton)
7. Ibstock Brick Brass (Stephen Cooper)
8. Greenfield (Phil Goodwin)
9. Meltham & Meltham Mills (Tom Haslam)
10. Ifton Colliery (Scott Lloyd)
11. Leicestershire Coop SMW (Luke Pallister)
12. Bedford Town (Martin Hurrell)
13. Epping Forest (Keith Schroeter)
14. Shirland Welfare (Lynden Cooper)
15. Chinnor Silver (David Pegram)
16. CWA Brass (Paul Hamilton)
17. BAE Systems (David Chapman)

Highest placed mining band: Gresley Colliery

Withdrawn: Waterbeach Brass


Third Section

Set work: Gothic Dances (Alan Fernie)
Adjudicators: Dave Lea and Sam Fisher

1. Tewit Silver (Martin Hall)
2. Emley Brass (Gary Hallas)
3. Whitworth Vale & Healey (Christopher Binns)
4. Towcester Studio (Peter Wain)
5. Raunds Temperance (Jonathan Pippen)
6. Hoover (Bolton) (Craig Mann)
7. Stamford Brass (Julian Bright)
8. Tadley Concert Band (Paul Chapman)
9. Pleasley Colliery Welfare (Geof Benson)
10. Sale Brass (Matthew Hindle)
11. Great Yarmouth Brass (Colin Swaep)
12. Crystal Palace (Michael Gray)
13. Syston (Colin Jones)

Highest placed mining band: Emley Brass

Withdrawn: Cubbington Silver


Fourth Section

Set work: A Bournemouth Suite (Benjamin Tubb)
Adjudicators: David Roberts and Alan Widdop

1. Dodworth Colliery MW (Eliot Darwin)
2. Spennymoor Town (Fiona Casewell)
3. Amington (Alan Gifford)
4. Sherwood Forest Brass (Christine Lippeatt)
5. Woodbridge Excelsior (Chris Lewis-Garnham)
6. Whitwell Brass (Adrian Wood)

Highest placed mining band: Dodworth Colliery MW