BATTLE OF THE TITANS - Bands gear up for a titanic battle at the Royal Albert Hall

Issue 6016

COMPOSERS' CORNER - Dr Liz Lane looks at the subject of  networking 

HERE IS THE NEWS - Looking back at the Daily Herald's Nationals sponsorship

Brett Baker among International Trombone Association award winners

Monday 23 December, 2019

The winners of the 2020 International Trombone Association (ITA) Awards have been announced, with Brett Baker among the recipients.

Brett, who won the President's Award, is a former president of the British Trombone Society. He is a longtime principal of Black Dyke Band, trombone professor at the University of Salford and has commissioned more than 100 solos for trombone and brass or wind band. Brett has served on the ITA committee for 15 years, five as secretary.

The ITA Award, recognising the highest creative and artistic output, went to the Japanese performer Kanda Magumi, who plays principal trombone with the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra.

The Neill Humfeld Award for excellence in trombone teaching and the ability to inspire and motivate went to Bart van Lier from the Netherlands. 

Dr Karl Hinterbichler, of the University of North Texas, won the Ken Hanlon Award. He is regarded as one of the leading low brass pedagogues in the USA and assistant journal editor of the ITA magazine.

The lifetime achievement award for 2020 went to American trombone player, songwriter and brass instrument player, James Carter (Jimmy) Pankow, best known as a founding member of the rock band Chicago.

Legacy Award winners for 2020 were Russian teacher Viktor Sumerkin and German Academic Heinz Fadle.