BATTLE OF THE TITANS - Bands gear up for a titanic battle at the Royal Albert Hall

Issue 6016

COMPOSERS' CORNER - Dr Liz Lane looks at the subject of  networking 

HERE IS THE NEWS - Looking back at the Daily Herald's Nationals sponsorship

Success for Ratby at LBBA contest

Saturday 30 November, 2019

Ratby Co-operative Band maintained its fine record at the Leicestershire Brass Band Association (LBBA) Open Brass Band Competition after defending its title in style recently. 

Conducted by Mareika Gray, the band impressed in its performance of own choice work, Fraternity, by Thierry Deleruyelle, at the contest in Loughborough Endowed Schools on November 24, which led adjudicator Mark Wilkinson to award the Leicestershire band first place. It builds on a victory in 2018 and podium places in 2017 and 2016.  

Pushing Ratby all the way was Derwent Brass, conducted by Jack Capstaff, in its performance of Metropolis 1927, ahead of Lydbrook Band and Glyn Williams (playing Between the Moon and Mexico) in third. 

Elsewhere, there was a win for Sandhurst Silver and David Johnson in the First Section while South Yorkshire Police and Leigh Baker maintained its fine contesting year with a victory in the Second Section. The Third Section saw Towcester Studio and Peter Wain come out on top while the Fourth Section was won by Melton Band, conducted by Graham Sutton. 

Championship Section 
Adjudicator – Mark Wilkinson 
1) Ratby Co-operative (Mareika Gray)   
2) Derwent Brass (Jack Capstaff)  
3) Lydbrook (Glyn Williams)  
4) Kidlington Concert (Duncan Wilson)  
5) Haverhill Silver (Paul Filby) 
6) Hathern Band (Colonel Stephen Barnwell)  
7) Rushden Town (Adele Hudson)  
Best Instrumentalist – Euphonium, Derwent 
Best Trombones – Ratby Co-operative 
Best Tenor Horn - Lydbrook 
First Section 
Adjudicator – David Hirst 
Trainee Adjudicator- Matthew Brown 
1) Sandhurst Silver (David Johnson) 
2) A W Parker (Joshua Ruck) 
3) Soham Comrades (Mark Ager) 
4) Bilton Silver (Anthony Hodgetts)  
5) City of Cambridge (Philip Fisher) 
6) City of Bristol (Ian Holmes)  
7) Oddfellows Brass (David Holling) 
8) Enderby (Ryan Richards) 
9) Harborough (Brad Turnbull) 
10) Staines Brass (Jonathan Pippen)  
11) Kibworth (Brendan Caddy) 
12) Hucknall & Linby MC (Paul Whyley)  
Best Instrumentalist – Euphonium, A W Parker 

Second Section 
Adjudicator – Dave Lea 
1) South Yorkshire Police (Leigh Baker)  
2) Tilbury (Melvin White)  
3) Bedford Town (Craig Patterson)  
4) Cockerton Prize Silver (Andrew Hunter) 
5) Hade Edge (Chris Binns) 
6) Foss Dyke (Ian Scott) 
7) City of Coventry (Jonathan Fearn)  
8) Rolls Royce (Graham Cardwell) 
9) Wigston (Rob Boulter) 
10) Ireland Colliery (Lindon Bolt) 
11) Littleport Brass (Ian Knapton) 
Best Instrumentalist – Flugelhorn, Rolls Royce 
Third Section 
Adjudicator – Dave Lea 
1) Towcester Studio (Peter Wain) 
2) Rockingham (Adam Whittle)  
3) Olney Brass (Kevin Nicholls)  
4) Amington (Alan Gifford) 
5) Bradwell Silver (Brian Keech)  
6) Cubbington Silver (Mark Phillips)  
70 Syston (Colin Jones)   
Best Instrumentalist – Eb Bass, Rockingham 
Fourth Section 
Adjudicator – John Ward 
1) Melton (Graham Sutton)  
2) Maltby Miners Welfare (Terry Clifford) 
3) Matlock (Chris Banks) 
4) Croft Silver (Ian Needham)  
5) Ratby Co-op Mid (Gary Perrin)  
6) Abbey Brass (Rob Tomkins)  
7) Kirkby Colliery Welfare (Neville Buxton)  
8) Bilton Silver Evolution (Jack Fisher)  
9) University of Warwick (Simon Hogg)  
10) Malvern Hills District (Chris License)  
Best Instrumentalist – Soprano, Maltby Miners Welfare 
Best Trombones – Melton