MY LIFE IN MUSIC - Exclusive interview with Paul Hindmarsh

Issue 6005

COMPOSERS' CORNER - Dr. Liz Lane discusses music notation programmes

REMEMBERING A LEGEND - British Bandsman pays tribute to William Broughton

EBBA announce line-up for Montreux

Thursday 7 February, 2019

The European Brass Band Association (EBBA) is pleased to announce the line-up of bands for the 42nd European Brass Band Championship (EBBC), which will be held at the banks of Lake Genèva in the impressive Stravinski Auditorium in Montreux, Switzerland. A total of 18 bands will take to the stage for what promises to be an historic contest, with two bands from last year’s Challenge Section promoted to the Championship Section, meaning it will now comprise 13 bands. It will be the first time since their first appearance in 2015 that Italian Brass Band will compete against the very best bands in the world in the Championship Section. 

The Italian champions will be joined by Göta Brass Band from Sweden, following an excellent performance in the Challenge Section last year. 

Reigning champion Valaisia Brass Band and Brass Band Bürgermusik Luzern will both appear as the home bands representing Switzerland. Given a line up that also includes Cory Band, Brass Band Willebroek, Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musikklag, Paris Brass Band, Brighouse & Rastrick, 3BA, Concord Brass Band, Provinciale Brass Band Groningen and Brass Band Oberösterreich, it promises to be an exciting, high-quality EBBC.

EBBA is delighted to announce that for the first time in the history of the EBBC that it will be welcoming a band from Spain to the ‘Europeans’. Malaga Brass Band and their conductor Víctor Eloy López Cerezo will be making the trip to Montreux to compete against four other bands in the Challenge Section. 

General Secretary Kor Niehof commented: “I’ve been impressed by the willingness and enthusiasm of the Malaga Brass Band to make a success of their debut at the European. It’s an honour to work with them towards the contest in Montreux." 

The five bands competing in the Challenge Section are: 1st Old Boys Band from Northern Ireland, the German Brass Band Regensburg, Annan Town Band from Scotland, Brass LT from Lithunia and the Malaga Brass Band.

EBBA President, Ulf Rosenberg added: “It’s great to see the brass band movement in Europe still developing, with bands making their debuts in the Championship Section and with the participation of a band from Spain in the Challenge Section. We are looking forward to all the performances, set tests and own-choice pieces at the 42nd EBBC in


Since it was established in 2014 at Perth, Scotland, the European Youth Brass Band Contest has become an important part of the European Brass Band Championships. This year’s edition will see nine participating bands on Sunday 28 April in Montreux. Defending champion in the Development Section, Wardle Academy Youth Band (England), will

compete against Brass Band Aukstyn (Lithuania), Smørås Skolemusikk (Norway) and Elland Silver Youth Band (England). Youth Brass 2000 (England) will defend their Premier Section title against BML-talents (Switzerland), Catch Basin Brass Band (Austria), Lions Youth Brass Band (England) and JBB Blechklang (Germany).

Championship Section

3BA Concert Band (Luc Vertommen) Germany

Brass Band Bürgermusik Luzern (Michael Bach) Switzerland

Brass Band Oberösterreich (Ian Porthouse) Austria

Brass Band Willebroek (Frans Violet) Belgium

Brighouse & Rastrick (Prof. David King) England

Concord Brass Band (Jesper Juul Windahl) Denmark

Cory Band (Philip Harper) Wales

Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musikklag (Ingar H. Bergby) Norway

Göta Brass Band (Michael Thomson) Sweden

Italian Brass Band (Filippo Cangiamila) Italy

Paris Brass Band (Florent Didier) France

Provinciale Brass Band Groningen (Richard Visser) The Netherlands

Valaisia Brass Band* (Arsène Duc) Switzerland

*defending champion


Challenge Section

1st Old Boys Band (Stephan Cairns) Northern Ireland

Annan Town Band (Paul Drury) Scotland

Brass Band Regensburg (Dave Lee) Germany

Brass LT (Russell Gray) Lithuania

Malaga Brass Band (Víctor Eloy López Cerezo) Spain


European Youth Brass Band Contest

Development Section

Brass Band Aukštyn (Piet Visser) Lithuania

Elland Silver Youth Band (Samantha Harrison) England

Smørås Skolemusik (Magnus Brandseth) Norway

Wardle Academy Youth Band* (Lee Rigg) England

*defending champion


Premier Section

BML Talents (Patrick Ottiger) Switzerland

Catch Basin Brass Band (Andreas Lackner) Austria

Jugend Brass Band (Blechklang Patricio Cosentino) Germany

Lions Youth Brass Band (Nigel Birch) England

Youth Brass 2000* (Chris Jeans) England

*defending champion