MY LIFE IN MUSIC - Exclusive interview with Paul Hindmarsh

Issue 6005

COMPOSERS' CORNER - Dr. Liz Lane discusses music notation programmes

REMEMBERING A LEGEND - British Bandsman pays tribute to William Broughton

Durham County Brass Band Association Festival of Brass

Tuesday 13 February, 2018

A successful day was had at the Durham County Brass Band Association Festival of Brass, held at East Durham College in Peterlee on 4 February. Thirteen bands competed across three sections for a total prize fund in excess of £1,000 and the 18 trophies and shields on offer. Adjudicator Leigh Baker said: “I was very impressed with the overall standard with some particularly fine performances taking home silverware The venue was perfect for a real festival atmosphere and the support was excellent throughout the day. Congratulations to all the bands and conductors and thank you for making me feel so welcome.”

Hugh Stephenson, Vice President of the Association, said: “The contest was a real success, with the auditorium packed for all performances. It was lovely to welcome Kippax to its first contest as an Association member band.” Hugh added: “It would be nice to see a few more bands enter to make the Festival bigger and better next year’

An added attraction to the contest this year was cash prizes being presented to the youngest player in each section playing in a principal position. Sponsorship was given by Ian Clayton from local company Stellion Limited. The results were:

Section A

1. North Skelton (Lewis Wilkinson)

2. Kippax (Ian Knapton)

3. Bearpark and Esh Colliery (Phillip Tait)

4. Durham Miners Association (Stuart Gray)

5. Ferryhill Town (Gareth Sykes)

6. Cockerton (Peter Elcoat)

Best soprano: Ian Fullerton (Cockerton)

Best Principal cornet: Neil Derbyshire (Kippax)

Best Percussion: North Skelton

Best Middle of the Band: North Skelton


Section B

1. Jayess Newbiggin (Andy Griffiths)

2. Spennymoor Town (Fiona Casewell)

3. Marske Silver (James Chisholm)

4. Lanchester (Tom Yates)

5. Craghead (John Robson)

Highest 4th Section Band: Spennymoor Town

Best Basses: Spennymoor Town

Best Principal Cornet: Dennis Todd

(Jayess Newbiggin)

Best Euphonium: George Cuthbertson

(Jayess Newbiggin)

Best Trombone Section: (Jayess Newbiggin)


Youth Section

1. Houghton Area Youth (Glenis Smith)

2. Egglescliffe School ( Matthew Haworth)