A TALE OF PERSEVERANCE - Mareika Gray - the story of an unlikely musical journey

Issue 6006

ON THE BEAT - The first in a new series by Gavin Pritchard discussing all things percussion

PRODUCING A RECORDING - Adam Goldsmith reveals the secrets to a successful recording

EBBC line-up announced

Tuesday 13 February, 2018

The European Brass Band Association (EBBA) has announced the line-up of bands for the 41st European Brass Band Championships, which will be held in Utrecht, Netherlands.

A spokesperson for EBBA told BB: “A total of 17 bands, in both the Championship Section and Challenge Section, will enter the stage in TivoliVredenburg for what promises to be a fantastic contest. With Brass Band Fröschl Hall from Austria making its debut in the Championship Section and reigning champion Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musikklag in a line-up that also includes Cory and current British Open Champion Valaisia Brass Band, it promises to be an exiting EBBC. Home band De Wâldsang will make its 20th appearance at the EBBC and will be joined by Fairey, Whitburn, Stavanger (qualified as the second Norwegian band), Hauts-de-France, 3BA, Willebroek and Concord, so the audience will again be spoiled by the finest bands in world. The Challenge Section will see five bands taking part. Italian Brass Band will defend its title and will compete along with bands from Germany, Sweden, Lithuania and Northern Ireland.” The full line-up is:


Championship Section

3BA Concert Band (Thomas Ludescher) Germany;

Brass Band Fröschl Hall (Corsin Tuor) Austria;

Brass Band Willebroek (Frans Violet) Belgium;

Concord Brass Band (Jesper Juul Windahl) Denmark;

Cory (Philip Harper) Wales;

De Wâldsang (Rieks van der Velde) Netherlands;

Eikanger Bjørsvik Musikklag (defending champion) (Ingar H. Bergby) Norway;

Fairey Band (Garry Cutt) England;

Hauts-de-France Brass Band (Luc Vertommen) France; Stavanger Brass Band (Allan Withington) Norway;

Valaisia Brass Band (Arséne Duc) Switzerland;

Whitburn Band (Professor Nicholas Childs) Scotland.


Challenge Section

Badische Brass Band (Dominik M. Koch) Germany;

Göta Brass (Michael Thomsen) Sweden;

Italian Brass Band (defending champion) Filippo Cangiamila (Italy);

Laganvale (Metal Technology) Band (Stephen Crooks) Northern Ireland;

Sunday Brass (Tadas Sileika) Lithuania.


European Youth Brass Band Championships

Development Section

Brass Band Aukstyn (Piet Visser) Lithuania;

Elland Silver Youth Band (defending Champion) (Samantha Harrison) England;

Tasta Skolekorps (Morten Oevrebekk) Norway;

Wardle Academy Youth Band (Lee Rigg) England.


Premier Section

Brass Band Berner Oberland Junior (Jan Müller) Switzerland;

Catch Bassin Brass Band (Andreas Lackner) Austria;

Danish Youth Brass Band (Stig Mærsk) Denmark;

Seindorf Beaumaris Youth Brass Band(Gwyn M. Evans) Wales;

Youth Brass 2000 (Chris Jeans) England.