A TALE OF PERSEVERANCE - Mareika Gray - the story of an unlikely musical journey

Issue 6006

ON THE BEAT - The first in a new series by Gavin Pritchard discussing all things percussion

PRODUCING A RECORDING - Adam Goldsmith reveals the secrets to a successful recording

North Wales Brass Band Association Rally

Sunday 10 December, 2017

There was victory for Northop Band (John Doyle) at the recent North Wales Brass Band Association Rally held at Ysgol Brynhyfryd in Ruthin. The band’s performance of Sounds (John Golland) was adjudged to be the best of the day, while it also took the awards for Best March (The President), Best Soloist (Aled Williams) and Best Flugel (Keith Jones). The results were:


Open Section

1. Northop Silver (John Doyle)

2. Deiniolen (Lois Eifion)

3. Ifton Colliery (Scott R. Lloyd)

4. Royal Buckley Town (Karl Stott)

Best Soloist: Aled Williams, euphonium, Northop Silver

Best March: Northop Silver

Best Flugel: Keith Jones (Northop Silver)


Section 4

1. Porthaethwy Menai Bridge 

(Chris Williams)

2. Buckley Brass (Steve Pugh-Jones)

3. Holywell (Aled Williams)

4. Dyffryn Nantlle (Gwenellian Jones)

Best Soloist: Jude Kimber, cornet, Porthaethwy Menai Bridge

Best March: Porthaethwy Menai Bridge


Section 5

1. Northop Training (Aled Williams)

2. Dyffryn Nantlle Training 

(Charlotte Green)

3. Menai Bridge Beginners 

(Hannah Retallick)

4. Llandudno Training (Sue Hughes)

Best Hymn: Dyffryn Nantlle Training

Best Soloist: Kit percussion 

(Dyffryn Nantlle)


Youth Section 6a

1. Beaumaris Youth (Gwyn Evans)

2. Denbighshire Music Co-operative Youth (John Powell)

Best Hymn: Beaumaris Youth

Best Soloist: Josh Glover, cornet, Denbighshire Music Co-operative Youth 


Youth Section 6b

1. Llangollen (Trevor Williams)

2. Beaumaris Intermediate (Bethan Evans)

3. Llandudno Intermediate (Sue Hughes)

Best Soloist: 

Taya Castley, cornet, Llangollen

Best Percussionist (from Section 6a or 6b): Mia and Ifan from Beaumaris Intermediate

Best Hymn: Beaumaris Intermediate

Adjudicators: Paul Wilson and 

John Glyn Jones