Creating a buzz at the National Youth Championships

Issue 5965

All the fun of the big event at Warwick University

BBC success for Isobel Daws and Thomas Nielsen

European stage awaits in Utrecht

New success for Elland at Bolsover Festival

Wednesday 11 October, 2017

There was further success for Elland Silver Band and conductor Danny Brookes at the Bolsover Festival of Brass, held at Heritage High School, Clowne, on Sunday 1 October. Elland’s winning performance not only secured it the top prize, as well as a well-deserved solo award for principal cornet Ben Jarvis, but will also see it take a coveted place at the 2018 Spring Festival at Blackpool. The event saw the competing bands give a total of 48 performances across six section, with viewers in 32 countries enjoying the action thanks to livestreaming on the Internet. The results were:

Championship Section

1. Elland Silver (Daniel Brookes) 92

2. Yorkshire Imperial Urquhart Travel (Martin Heartfield) 89

3. Shepherd Group (Richard Wilton) 87

4. Unite the Union (John Roberts) 86

5. East London Brass (Jayne Murrill) 81.5

6. Hatfield (Stan Lippeatt) 81

7. Blidworth Welfare (David Hirst) 77.5

8. Haverhill Silver (Mark Ager) 76

9= Bedworth Brass (Ryan Richards) 74

9= Longridge (Mark Peacock) 74

11. Fishburn (Michael Franey) 73.5

12. Foresters Brass (John Davis) 73

13. Carlton Brass (Gary Wyatt) 71

Best Soloist: Ben Jarvis, cornet, Elland Silver

Most Entertaining Performance: Elland Silver

Adjudicator: Steven Mead

1st Section

1. Unite the Union (John Roberts) 96

2. Skelmanthorpe (Jim Davies) 95

3. Enderby (Simon Gresswell) 93

4. Shepherd Group (Richard Wilton) 92

5. Stannington Brass (Derek Renshaw) 90

6. Foresters Brass (John Davis) 89

7. Manger Old Stars (Marit Tommermo) 88

8. Carlton Brass (Gary Wyatt) 87

9. Gresley Colliery (Craig Stevens) 86

10. Wigston Band (Chris Small) 84

11. Shirebrook Miners Welfare (Colum O’Shea) 83

12. Shirley Band (David Bishop-Rowe) 82

Best Soloist: Dan Jackson, euphonium, Skelmanthorpe

Most Entertaining Performance: Unite the Union

Adjudicator: Thomas Wyss


2nd Section

1. Horbury Victoria (Duncan Beckley) 90

2. Manger Old Stars (Marit Tommermo) 88

3. Stourport on Severn (Oliver Wilson) 86

4. Pleasley Colliery Welfare (Geof Benson) 85

Best Soloist: Charlie Walsh, soprano, Horbury Victoria

Adjudicator: Dr David Thornton


3rd Section

1. Ifton Colliery Brass (Scott Robert Lloyd) 94

2. Rolls Royce (Derby) (Graham Cardwell) 92

3. Shirland Welfare (Lynden Cooper) 90

4. Towcester Studio (Neil Brownless) 87

5. Stourport-on-Severn (Oliver Wilson) 86

6. Audley Brass (Tom Hancock) 85

7. Market Rasen (David Dearnley) 83

8. Rockingham (Adam Whittle) 82

9. Stacksteads (Fred Bowker) 81

10. Long Eaton Silver Prize (Sharon Stansfield) 80

11. Matlock (Geoff Hawley) 79

12. Swinton and District Excelsior (Robin Rutter) 78

Best Soloist: Graham Taylor, cornet, Ifton Colliery

Adjudicator: Mark Wilkinson


4th Section

1. Kirkby Colliery (Neville Buxton) 87

2. Ilkeston Brick Brass (Geoff Hawley) 86

3. Deepcar Brass (Cathryn Rogers) 84

4. Ratby Co-operative Mid (Geoff Wood) 83

5. Whitwell Band (Ryan Stacey) 82

Best Soloist: Guido Damore, cornet, Ratby Co-operative Mid

Adjudicator: Dr David Thornton


Unregistered Section

1. Carlton Brass Training (Geoff Hawley) 85

2. Shirland Training (Ian Beckett) 84

Best Soloist: Kelly Campbell, euphonium, Carlton Brass Training

Adjudicator: Dr David Thornton