BATTLE OF THE TITANS - Bands gear up for a titanic battle at the Royal Albert Hall

Issue 6016

COMPOSERS' CORNER - Dr Liz Lane looks at the subject of  networking 

HERE IS THE NEWS - Looking back at the Daily Herald's Nationals sponsorship

Camborne Town regains Bugle crown

Monday 19 June, 2017

Camborne Town wrestled the Royal Trophy back from close rival St. Dennis Band at last weekend’s sun-drenched West of England Bandsmen’s Festival at Bugle.

The traditional march through the village by the competing bands to the contest field took place in glorious sunshine before a large audience settled down to hear performances from 15 bands.

Geraint Richards, great grandson of F. J. Richards, one of the Founders of the Festival in 1912, was introduced as the new Chairman of the Festival on the day it was also announced that he had been awarded the MVO in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Presentations were made to Gareth Roberts MBE, who stepped down after judging the Deportment Section for the last 36 years, and to Michael Mortimore, marking his 50 years as a member of the Festival Committee and, in particular,  his efforts as Honorary Groundsman in preparing and maintaining the field throughout the year.

The full results were:

Championship Section:

Adjudicator: David Marshall

Test-Piece: Les Preludes (Franz Liszt arr. Bram Gay)

1. Camborne Town (Kevin Mackenzie) 96

2. St. Dennis (Darren Hawken) 94

3. St. Austell Town (Steve Sykes) 90

Melody: Irish Tune from County Derry (Percy Grainger arr. Denis Wright)

1. St. Dennis (Darren Hawken) 97

2. Camborne Town (Kevin Mackenzie) 95

3. St. Austell Town (Steve Sykes) 93

Best Player Award: Les Kneebone, soprano cornet, Camborne Town

1st Section:

Test-Piece: Royal Parks (George Lloyd)

1. SW Comms (Chris Spreadbury) 94

2. Bournemouth Concert Brass (Melvin White) 90

3. Hyde (Jonathan Lush-Camps) 89

March: Glemdene (John Carr)

1. Bournemouth Concert Brass (Melvin White) 85

2. Bodmin Town (John Maines) 84

3. Hyde (Jonathan Lush-Camps) 83

Best Player Award: Andrew Stark, cornet, SW Comms

2nd Section:

Test-Piece: The Mermaid of Zennor (Philip Harper)

1. Brassband Excelsior Ferwert (Herman Sibma) 97

March: Carnival King (William Rimmer)

1. Brassband Excelsior Ferwert (Herman Sibma) 95

Best Player Award: Bert de Ruiter, euphonium, Brassband Excelsior Ferwert

3rd Section:

Test-Piece: Sinfonietta for Brass Band (Gordon Langford)

1. Bugle Silver (Steve Osborne) 90

2. St. Stythians (James Burns) 87

Best Player Award: Leanne Osborn, flugel, Bugle

4th Section:

Test-Piece: Four Little Maids (John Carr)

1. Indian Queens (Mark Arnold) 90

2. Redruth Town (Keith Anderson) 85

3. Okehampton Excelsior (Richard Beardon) 80

Best Player Award: Tracey Kistle, euphonium, Indian Queens

Youth Section:

Own Choice

1. St. Dennis Youth (Rachael Sargent) 85

2. St. Austell Youth (Anna Minear) 82

Best Player: Amy Bristow, baritone, St. Dennis Youth

Best Cornet: Holly Sargent, St. Dennis Youth

E J Williams Memorial Trophy to the Winning Conductor: Rachael Sargent

Training Section:

Test-Piece: 10 minutes - own choice

1. Soundhouse (Gary Thompson) 90

Best Player: Alastair Blakely, percussion, Soundhouse

Best Cornet: Miles Gilhespy, Soundhouse

Special Awards:

Best Soprano: Les Kneebone, Camborne Town

Best Solo Cornet: Lee Wilde, Camborne Town

Best Euphonium: Kimberly Bazeley, St. Dennis

Best Solo Horn: Francesca Bazeley, St. Dennis

Best Basses: Camborne Town

A R Trudgian Youth Awards: Grace Denford and Matthew Opie (Bodmin Town)

Deportment Class:

Adjudicator: Gareth Roberts MBE

1. Bugle Silver

2. Okehampton Excelsior Silver