Issue 5970

Egon Virtuosi Brass - An inside story

The Owen Farr Seminar - the first in a monthly series of brass masterclasses by the tenor horn virtuoso

Besses Boys' Band - Celebrating 75 years

Grimethorpe Youth Band feature

Eagley flying high at Ripon Contest

Friday 9 June, 2017

The Eagley Band celebrated its first victory since 2000 last weekend when it topped the table at the popular Ripon Cathedral Entertainment Contest.

Under the baton of Chris Wormald, who guided Eagley to fifth place at the recent North West Area contest at Blackpool, the Bolton based outfit was a convincing winner in the adjudicators’ eyes as it returned to Lancashire not only with the Rose Bowl Trophy and £250 first prize but also the 'Most Entertaining Band' and deportment silverware, securing a clear-cut success ahead of rivals Leyburn with North Skelton in third.

Starting with Gonna Fly Now from the Rocky film, Eagley included the hymn Eventide and I’ve Dreamed of You in a programme which concluded with the Final Hymn from Stravinsky’s Firebird.

The full results were:

Adjudicators: Mike Kilroy (Music), Malcolm Dibb and Mark Sidwell (Entertainment/Programme)

1. Eagley (Chris Wormald): 194 (music) + 47.5 (entertainment) = 241.5

2. Leyburn (Rebecca Lundberg): 192+46 = 237

3. North Skelton (Lewis Wilkinson): 190+44.5 = 234.5

4. Tewit Youth (Martin Hall): 188+44.5 = 232.5

5. Ferryhill Town (Andrew Hall): 188+39.5 = 226.5

6. Trimdon Concert (Tina Mortimer): 184+38.5 = 222.5

7. Knaresborough Silver (Steve Morland): 182+40 = 222

8. Skipton Brass (Jack Smith): 186+35 = 221

9. Durham Constabulary (Dennis Noble): 185+37.5 = 219.5

10. Marske Brass (James Chisholm): 187+32 = 219

11. Murton Colliery (Tom Maddison): 181+30 = 211

Most Entertaining Band: Eagley

Best March: Leyburn

Best Hymn: Skipton

Best Soloist: Tewit Youth

Best Euphonium Player: Durham Constabulary

Best Percussion Section: North Skelton

Best 4th Section/Unregistered band not in the first three places: Tewit Youth

Best Youth Section Band not in the first three places: Tewit Youth