The Essence of the Regional Championships!

Issue 5964

Full round-up of the 2018 ‘Areas’ from around the UK

Wilfred Heaton - a ‘variation’ on life

New century for ‘The Co’

Results from East Anglian solo and quartet contest

Thursday 11 May, 2017

The East Anglian Brass Band Association (EABBA) held its annual solo and quartet contest last Sunday, 7 May at Blackfriar’s Hall in Norwich which saw members of the Haverhill Silver Band dominate the prize lists in the senior contests.

Later in the evening, a gala concert was held by the Brighouse and Rastrick Band in the adjoining St. Andrews Hall. The concert was performed in memory of Donald Palmer, a long standing Trustee of the EABBA who had given over 40 years service to the Association.

Included in the audience were a significant number of young brass musicians between the ages of 9 and 17 from Norwich and the surrounding areas, all of whom received free tickets to the concert, thanks to the support of Norwich Town Close Estate Charity and the Norfolk Music Hub. 

Under the band’s Musical Director David Thornton, Brighouse performed a varied programme including some classical favourites  such as Rimsky-Korsakov’s Capriccio Espagnol, the tenor horn solo Ballade by John Golland played by Sheona White, and a selection of music played by jazz and swing bands in the 1920’s. The Standard of St George was especially dedicated to the memory of Donald Palmer while Brighouse performed its famous Floral Dance as an encore.  

The full results of the solo and quartet contest were:

Air Varie:

1. Tim Pannell, Haverhill Silver Band

2. Jenny Tinkler, Haverhill Silver Band

3. Anthony Saunders, Haverhill Silver Band

Senior Slow Melody:

1. Anthony Saunders, Haverhill Silver Band

2. Tim Pannell, Haverhill Silver Band

3. Peter Mackley, Haverhill Silver Band


1. Haverhill Silver Band

2. Tendring Brass Academy

3. Castleton Brass

Under 18 Slow Melody:

1. Edward Frazer-Brown, Tendring Brass Academy

2. Florence Wilson-Toy, Haverhill Youth and Community Band

3. Ellie Bould, Tendring Brass Academy

13 and under highest placed competitor:

Florence Wilson-Toy, Haverhill Youth and Community Band