A TALE OF PERSEVERANCE - Mareika Gray - the story of an unlikely musical journey

Issue 6006

ON THE BEAT - The first in a new series by Gavin Pritchard discussing all things percussion

PRODUCING A RECORDING - Adam Goldsmith reveals the secrets to a successful recording

Salford all set for National Youth Championships

Tuesday 28 March, 2017

A total of 30 youth bands will take to the stages of the University of Salford on Sunday, 2 April for the 2017 National Youth Brass Band Championships.

Hosted by Brass Bands England (BBE) and supported using public funding by the Arts Council England, the event gets underway at 9.00am in the Peel Hall where adjudicators Mareika Gray and Richard Marshall will oversee 5 entrants in the Beginners Band Section, each of which will perform an own choice programme of up to 15 minutes.

Simultaneously, the Intermediate Championship Section will take place in the Maxwell Hall (9.15am start) with 11 bands playing a programme of no more than 20 minutes which must include the set test-piece Smoke Sketches by Daniel Hall. Thomas Wyss and Mark Harrison make up the adjudication panel for this contest.

The Junior Championship Section also has 11 bands involved, each of which will perform a programme lasting no more than 15 minutes which must include at least one original piece of music composed for brass band and two verses of a hymn tune from the Red Hymn Book. This section, due to start around 12.00 noon in the Peel Hall, will be adjudicated by David Thornton and Michael Golding.

Lions Youth Brass Band and Northamptonshire Youth Brass Band will attempt to deny Chris Jeans and Youth Brass 2000 their fourth consecutive Championship Section title. The Maxwell Hall will host the three bands as they perform Penlee by Simon Dobson before judges Mareika Gray and Richard Marshall. The Championship Section should start around 4.00pm.

Looking forward to the event, BBE Chairman Mike Kilroy commented: “Although the purpose of Brass Bands England is to support and promote brass bands at every level, it is critical that we continue to support and encourage youth development to create a sustainable future for our brass band community. I hope that everyone will thoroughly enjoy this year’s event whether they are participants, supporters or members of the audience. I know everyone will be truly inspired by the commitment of the young people who will take centre stage at this year’s event.”

The competing bands are as follows:

Beginners Band Section

Macclesfield Youth Training (Liz Hudson)

Astley Training (Helen Minshall)

Wardle Junior (Lee Rigg)

Stockport Schools’ Junior Brass (James Keirle)

Lions Beginner (Chris Thompson)

Junior Championship Section

Wardle Academy Junior (Lee Rigg)

Tewit Youth Intermediate (Steve Heninghem)

Macclesfield Youth Junior (Tim Grindey)

Fred Longworth High School (Helen Robinson)

Hawkley Hall High School (Steve Cavanagh)

Stockport Schools’ Intermediate Brass (Tom Ridgley)

Lancashire Youth Brass (Helen Minshall)

Lions Junior Brass (Tom Hancock)

Elland Junior Brass (Samantha Harrison)

Chalford Youth (Steve Tubb)

Denbighshire Music Co-operative Brass (John Powell)

Intermediate Championship Section

Poynton Youth Brass (Michael Eccles)

Tewit Youth (Martin Hall)

Rochdale Borough Youth Brass (Ben Dixon)

Macclesfield Youth (Louise Renshaw)

Egglescliffe School (Matthew Haworth)

Elland Silver Youth (Samantha Harrison)

Stockport Schools’ Senior Brass (Iain McKnight)

Enderby Youth (Trevor Hounsome)

Wardle Academy Youth (Lee Rigg)

Milton Keynes Youth Brass (Ben Godfrey)

Cardiff County Youth (Charles Maynard)

Championship Section

Youth Brass 2000 (Chris Jeans)

Lions Youth Brass (Nigel Birch)

Northamptonshire Youth Brass (Brad Turnbull)