Creating a buzz at the National Youth Championships

Issue 5965

All the fun of the big event at Warwick University

BBC success for Isobel Daws and Thomas Nielsen

European stage awaits in Utrecht

BBC Radio 2 Young Brass Award final line-up announced

Tuesday 7 March, 2017

The four performers who have negotiated their way through to the final of the BBC Radio 2 Young Brass Award have been announced.

Tenor horn player Siobhan Bates will be joined by James Nash (flugelhorn) and trombonists Ellena Newton and Isobel Daws after all four found favour with semi-final judges David Childs and Helen Vollam.

The final, which takes place at the Royal Northern College of Music (RNCM) on 21 April, will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 2 in a show presented by Clare Teal and Frank Renton. Semi-final judge David Childs will be joined by Becky Smith and Philip Harper on the grand final adjudication panel.

Each player will be accompanied by the Foden’s Band which, under the baton of Michael Fowles, will also perform a short concert while the adjudicators reach their verdict. Jazz singer and co-presenter Clare Teal will also perform live at the event which will close with a reprise from the winning soloist and a performance of the Peter Meecham arrangement of Freddie Mercury’s Innuendo.