PITCHING HIGH - Trumpet superstar Mike Lovatt talks exclusively to British Bandsman

Issue 5978


GRIP, GRIN... GROAN! - Brass band presentation ceremonies - are they still relevant?

THE GREAT TRIUMVIRATE - In the last of the series, Tim Mutum looks at the life and times of Alex Owen 

Durham Festival of Brass

Friday 24 February, 2017

The Durham County Brass Band Association Festival of Brass took place at East Durham College, Peterlee on Sunday 5 February. 13 bands competed in four sections for a total prize fund in excess of £1,000 together with 17 trophies and shields.

Hugh Stephenson, on behalf of the Association said: “A great day of brass banding was had by all with an auditorium full from the first to the last band listening to varied own-choice test-pieces.” He added: “We are delighted that Egglescliffe School Band competed in its first Association contest.

“In his pre result comments the adjudicator David Hirst commented that a number of performances were played to a high standard and bands welcomed his positive and constructive remarks. David was accompanied in the box by Benjamin Richeton, who is a trainee on the Association of Brass Band Adjudicators Programme and plays soprano with Black Dyke. Benjamin has to fulfil six assignments over his two-year training period and we were pleased to accommodate him at the Festival of Brass which was his first.”

The full results were:

Section A

1. Easington Colliery (Ian Robinson)

Section B

1. Ferryhill Town (Andrew Hall) 

2. North Skelton ( Lewis Wilkinson)

3. Durham Miners Association ( Stuart Gray)

4. Billingham Silver (Vaughan Evans)

5. Murton Colliery (Richie Wallace)

6. Backworth Colliery  (Colin Harris)

Best Principal Cornet: Andrew Potts, Ferryhill Town

Best Middle of the Band: Ferryhill Town

Best Percussion: North Skelton

Section C

1. Jayess Newbiggin (Andy Griffiths)

2. Lanchester (Gareth Sykes) 

3. Spennymoor Town (Neil Davies)

4. Craghead (Jack Dodds)

5. Trimdon Concert (Tina Mortimer) 

Best Euphonium: Gordon Wright, Lanchester 

Best Trombone Section: Craghead Colliery 

Best Cornet: Dennis Todd, Jayess Newbggin

Best Bass Section: Jayess Newbiggin

Youth Section

1. Egglescliffe School (Matthew Howarth)