AN EMPHASIS ON YOUTH - Carol Jarvis and Garry Cutt lead the way at NYBBGB

Issue 6010

REWRITING THE HISTORY BOOKS - How Paris Brass Band rose to the top of the European tree

MAESTRO'S MUSINGS - Allan Withington's Conductors' Summer School hits heights


North West Regional Championships - First Section LIVE!

Friday 22 February, 2019


1. Rainford (Gareth Brindle)*
2. Boarshurst Silver (James Garlick)*
3. Longridge (Mark Peacock)
4. Blackburn & Darwen (Daniel Thomas)
5. Haydock (Mark Quinn)
6. Middleton (Kevin Gibbs)
7. Roberts Bakery (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
8. Flixton (Matthew Ryan)
9. Silk Brass (Tony Wyatt)
10. Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray)
11. Manx Concert Brass (Ian Clague MBE)
12. Diggle (Alan Widdop)
13. Mossley (Duncan Byers)
14. Haslingden & Helmshore (John Binns)
15. Cheshire Constabulary (David Woollam)
16. Crewe Brass (Matt Pithers)

*Top two qualify for final in Cheltenham

Percussion: Rainford
Soprano: Longridge
Youngest Player: Thomas Scathe (12) — Mossley



Test Piece: Symphony of Marches (Gilbert Vinter)
The Empress Ballroom
Adjudicators: Leigh Baker & John Doyle

1. Haydock (Mark Quinn)
2. Haslingden & Helmshore (John Binns)
3. Boarshurst Silver (James Garlick)
4. Blackburn & Darwen (Daniel Thomas)
5. Flixton (Matthew Ryan)
6. Diggle (Alan Widdop)
7. Silk Brass (Tony Wyatt)
8. Cheshire Constabulary (David Woollam)
9. Rainford (Gareth Brindle)
10. Longridge (Mark Peacock)
11. Middleton (Kevin Gibbs)
12. Roberts Bakery (Paul Lovatt-Cooper)
13. Crewe Brass (Matt Pithers)
14. Eccles Borough (Mareika Gray)
15. Manx Concert Brass (Ian Clague MBE)
16. Mossley (Duncan Byers)